E-Book Piracy May Change the Future of RiverHouse Publishing’s Releases


Let me vent for a while, ladies, if you don’t mind.  I spent many months, weeks, days, hours on my work.  So, it pains me to no end when I see that readers purchase my book and then post it on illegal forums, even against 17 U.S.C. § 512 and the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (“DMCA”).  Why a person would want to first pirate another person’s personal work, then pawn if off for free.  Needless to say, I’ve already contacted the FBI and my lawyers.  This upsets me very much and provides to me the understanding of that double-edged sword of technology.  While I have loved the Kindle, Nook and PDF capabilities, I’m not sure that it’s worth being the victim of other people’s inconsiderate and costly behavior. 

What are your thoughts? Have any of you ever experienced this with your own work or have you ever pirated? 

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Latrivia

5 Comments

  1. Latrivia,

    I am so sorry to hear that this has happened to you. Any type of theft feels like a violation of your person. It does not matter whether or not it is in the physical world or the e-world. This is problem that many writers/artists are experiencing in cyberspace. It is one of the reasons that e-law is becoming very popular in law school.

    The true fans of your work, like myself, do not mind paying for it, whether it be on Kindle, pdf, hardcover etc because you tell an excellent story with characters that we thoroughly enjoy . This sounds like someone who could be envious of the attention your work has been getting lately and is trying to sabotage you. I hope I am wrong about this.

    In addition I just want to add that the economy has been tough on many people, there are many people who want to read your work that can not afford to right now. Do you have any plans on making your books available at public libraries so that people can check them out as opposed to reading pirate copies of them on the internet.

    I hope you resolve this situation as quickly as possible.

  2. Mrs. Nelson,

    I too am so sorry to hear that. I own a Kindle and I think that it is outrageous that anyone would even think to do something like that. Intellectual property is sacred to me. If you didn’t create the material then it is not yours to take and post on various websites. I hope the authorities catch the person responsible for this. That is one of the drawbacks I’m afraid to technology, piracy has become all to common and people just seem to have no regard. I understand that times are difficult for some, but that should be no excuse for anyone the E-book only cost $6.00 on Amazon, come on people.

    • Hi Negrita,

      Yes. I appreciated that e-book availability. I remember walking in the heat three miles to the library in the dead of summer to check out a book. Now, I can just purchase one on my Kindle or Nook. It’s a hard pill to swallow to see people pirate your work. And these are readers who post it. They feel as though they are doing their fellow readers a favor. I’m appalled and now committed to find other means to reach my readers. You guys mean the world to me. I’ll find a way to do this…lawfully. Although, I have to admit that I feel really Ivan-like today.

      Latrivia

  3. Yes, it is sad that you spend so much time and effort in your work and someone just pirates it. I have signed so many petitiions against eBook piracy, that my typing fingers are sore. Authors put so much time and effort into their work, it is so pathetic that someone just wouldn’t pay the money to get it; eBooks are cheaper than paperback!

    A few of us authors have wondered, should we even keep doing the work only to have it pirated? Some of us walk away from what we love just so we don’t run the risk of being pirated.

    • Hi Nevea,

      If you ever receive a petition and you need another signature, let me know. I’ll put my John Hancock there. Boy, this has really been a struggle. I’m prayerful though. I know that this will all work out in the end.

      I don’t want to walk away, I just want to push the laws to be enforced more. Maybe we can develop a collaboration that works on a community side to raise awareness and help push tougher legislation.

      Latrivia


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • July 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031